What's in coconut sugar?

Coconut sugar looks like brown sugar and has a strong caramel taste. It's produced in the Philippines and elsewhere in South East Asia, and is made from the sap of the coconut palm tree. It is essentially the same as palm sugar and jaggery, which can be made from palm sap or sugar cane.