How many penguins are at the south pole?

There are an estimated 2.5 million breeding pairs of Adélie penguins in Antarctica. They weigh from 3.6 to 6.0 kg (7.9 to 13.2 pounds), grow between 46 to 71 cm (18 to 28 inches) tall, and their preferred diet is fish and krill.