Why is cincinnati called the queen city?

In the early 1800s, as settlers moved west into what was then a vast wilderness, Cincinnati quickly grew to become an outpost of arts, culture and civilization. It's proud citizens began to refer to their town as "The Queen of the West." The name caught on, eventually becoming the "Queen City".