When was petra discovered?

Then, in 1812, the unique ruins of Petra were “discovered” by explorer Johann Ludwig Burckhardt. He described the ruins of the once-great city in chronicles of his travels. With the western world now aware of their existence, they attracted the interest of architects and scholars, among others