Is champagne supposed to be chilled?

Yes, most white wines are best served slightly chilled. Experts suggest 8 to 10° Centigrade, 47-50°F is ideal; but do not chill champagne in a freezer nor serve it in chilled glasses. Before you drink it from a glass allow a few seconds for the carbon dioxide from the bubbles to dissipate.