What kind of rocks are created by magma?

Molten magma that reaches Earth's surface cools to become igneous rock. The other primary rock types are sedimentary, which is formed from sand and other material compressed together, and metamorphic, which is rock that has been combined or changed over time by heat, pressure, or chemical reactions.