Are canola oil and vegetable oil the same thing?

Canola oil is actually a type of vegetable oil that comes from the rapeseed or canola plant. When you see vegetable oil on a label at the supermarket, what's in the bottle can vary. But, more often than not, it's mainly composed of a blend of soybean, corn and canola oil.