Where did the tradition of black eyed peas on new year's day come from?

Eating black-eyed peas on New Year's has been considered good luck for at least 1,500 years. According to a portion of the Talmud written around 500 A.D., it was Jewish custom at the time to eat black-eyed peas in celebration of Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year (which occurs in the fall).