What temperature should you roast a chicken at?

Roast for 20 minutes at 450 degrees, then reduce the temperature to 350 degrees and continue roasting for another 40 minutes. Baste every 10 minutes. Remove from the oven when the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees. Let it rest for about 20 minutes before carving.