What happens in diary of a wimpy kid?

When character Greg Heffley begins his last year of middle school, his mother gives him a journal to write and draw in. Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the product of that year’s recordings. Greg begins his journal by describing the other students and analyzing middle school popularity.