What are sprouted almonds?

Sprouting is the process of soaking almonds (or other nuts or legumes) in water for a long period of time. Raw nuts contain enzyme inhibitors. Sprouting releases enzymes, making them softer with a less bitter flavor than raw ones and more easily digested.