What do you take magnesium for?

Magnesium is a critical element needed by most higher forms of life, including humans. It is part of hundreds of protein enzymes used by the body, helps conduct nerve impulses, form bone and muscle, metabolize food for energy and synthesize DNA. People have about 1 ounce of it in our bodies.