How many different types of shapes are there?

There are two types of geometric shapes: two dimensional and three dimensional. Two dimensional shapes can further be divvied in: 1) triangles, 2) quadrilaterals, such as rectangles or parallelograms, 3) Polygons, such as pentagons or hexagons, and 4) Curved Shapes such as circle or ellipse.