Which way does a hurricane spin?

North of the Earth's equator, hurricanes spin counterclockwise. South of the equator, hurricanes spin clockwise. This is because of the earth's rotation, which gives rise to what is known as the Coriolis acceleration, balanced by the low pressure at the center of the hurricane, typhoon, or cyclone.