Why is the earth getting hotter?

Global warming is believed to be the result of carbon dioxide and other pollutants becoming trapped in the atmosphere. These 'greenhouse gasses' absorb and prevent solar radiation from bouncing off the earth's surface and back out in to space, thus gradually increasing the temperature of the planet.