What does a fist in the air mean?

To hold your fist in the air can represent solidarity with a person or group, or can be a symbol of defiance.

---

A fist in the air is often a symbol of political solidarity, or a salute to express unity, strength, or resistance. A raised fist is also a common symbol of communism, socialism, and other revolutionary social movements.