What is the movie all mine to give about?

A Scottish family immigrates to 1850's Eureka, Wisconsin. The family grows to six children and prospers via a boat-building business. Tragedy strikes the oldest son at the age of twelve; the rest of the movie plot is how the tragedy is handled plus impact on the entire family.