Who invented the atomic clock?

Norman Ramsay, Hans Demelt, Wolfgang Paul were awarded the Nobel Prize in 1989 for their work on developing the atomic clock. It is the most accurate timepiece in the world. Not to be confused with the Doomsday Clock that shows how close the world is to destruction by our own inventions.