What makes pepper spicy?

The heat level of pepper is incredibly mild compared to any chili on the Scoville scale, but it does have a level of pungency to it. That spiciness doesn't come from capsaicin, though, the power behind hot peppers. Rather it's a chemical compound named piperine that gives black pepper its heat.