How much debris is in space?

Many pieces of space debris orbit the earth. Some are small but travel at high speed and are dangerous to astronauts and satellites. There are about 3000 functioning satellites, and debris pieces number in the thousands. Often, space stations and satellites alter course to avoid collision.