Where did the expression kick the bucket come from?

The expression "kick the bucket" likely came from an old use of "bucket," meaning the beam pigs were hung by their feet from before they were slaughtered. A common misconception links the phrase to committing suicide.

---

The term is known to date from at least the 16th century. The more interesting (and probably apochryphal) origin relates to suicides who would stand on a large bucket with noose around the neck and, at the moment of their choosing, would kick away the bucket.