How long was the benghazi investigation?

On September 11th 2012 the diplomatic mission in Benghazi Libya was attacked resulting in the death of a U.S ambassador and three other Americans. An investigation into the event lasted from May 8th, 2014 until December 12th, 2016 lasting approximately 18 months.