Where did the first human beings live?

Africa. Based upon the oldest fossils of humans found around the world, scientists are confident that human beings first evolved in Africa from earlier ancestors. The human lineage had become modern Homo sapiens around 300,000 years ago, probably close to the Eastern coastline of Africa.