Can i substitute milk for heavy whipping cream?

If you need a cup of heavy cream, and don't have any on hand while cooking, you can substitute three fourth portion of milk and one fourth portion of melted butter thoroughly mixed. It won't whip but otherwise will work well in any recipe that calls for heavy cream.