Are the bahamas part of the united states?

No, but they were formerly a part of Britain. The Bahamas achieved independence from Britain July 10, 1973, and is now a fully self-governing member of the Commonwealth and a member of the United Nations, the Caribbean Community and the Organisation of American States.

---

No, the Commonwealth of the Bahamas is a country within the Lucayan Archipelago in the Caribbean. It consists of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets. The Bahamas became an independent Commonwealth realm in 1973 with Elizabeth II as its queen.

---

No. The Bahamas is an independent country that is part of the Commonwealth, having gained its independence from Britain in 1973.