What's the difference between an instant pot and a crock pot?

A crock pot is an unpressurized slow cooker designed to operate over a several hour period to cook food at relatively low temperatures. An instant pot can work similarly to a crock pot but also can also be sealed and operated at high temperatures as a pressure cooker or for specific types of food.