What's the sunrise effect?

What's the sunrise effect? Atmospheric refraction causes the Sun to be seen while it is still below the horizon. Light from the lower edge of the Sun's disk is refracted more than light from the upper edge. This reduces the apparent height of the Sun when it appears just above the horizon.