What's the next size smaller than seven eights?

Rephrase the question. An eight is an integer number, an eighth is something divided by 8. Are you asking what eighth is next smaller than seven eighths? If so, the answer is 6 eighths. Otherwise if you have seven 8s, you have 56 and one integer value less than that is 55.