Is queen's gambit based on a true story?

The Queen's Gambit is an adaptation of a 1983 fictional novel of the same name, written by Walter Tevis.

---

While The Queen's Gambit comes across as an inspirational sports story, it's an adaptation of a 1983 fictional coming-of-age novel of the same name written by American novelist Walter Tevis.

---

Beth the main character of Queen's Gambit was created by Walter Tevis for his novel, He said Beth was meant to be a "tribute to brainy women," Tevis said "I like Beth for her bravery and intelligence. In the past, many women have had to hide their brains, but not today,"