When does black widow take place?

In the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline, the movie Black Widow takes place around 2016 and 2017, after the break up of the Avengers in Captain America: Civil War and before the events in Avengers: Infinity War.

---

The timeline of Black Widow is split up and spreads across 28 years. The prologue takes place in 1995, depicting Natasha’s childhood. The bulk of the movie takes place in 2016 after the events of Captain America: Civil War. The post credits scene occurs in 2023 after the events of Avengers: Endgame.