Why is it called pumpernickel bread?

Pumpernickel has its origins as a German word that comes from “pumpern,” which means to to “break wind” and “Nickel,” a take on the name Nicholas, which is associated with goblins or devilish characters. The word comes from the bread's "reputed indigestibility,” due to the use of the whole rye berry