What's a lay?

Spelled L E I, a lei is a garland or necklace of flowers, typically originating as a welcoming gift in the Hawaiian islands. Spelled L A Y, lay is an adjective that describes a nonprofessional, originally, not a member of the clergy, as in a layperson, or it is a verb meaning, to place horizontally.