When do we start gaining a minute of daylight?

The days stop getting shorter and start getting longer again after the winter solstice, otherwise known as the first day of winter. In the northern hemisphere, winter solstice is usually the 21st or 22nd day of December. in 2022 it's Wednesday, December 21.