How many ships are in star wars?

A fleet was a conglomeration of warships organized into a single unit. The commanding officer would usually utilize one of the heavy capital ships within the fleet, such as a Star Destroyer, as their flagship. The Galactic Republic maintained a fleet that was attached to each of its Sector Armies