What year did the toy come out?

“The Toy,” directed by Richard Donner, starring Richard Pryor was released in the U.S.A on December 10, 1982. “The Toy,” Original title: “Le jouet,” directed by Francis Veber was released in France, on December 8, 1976. Both films follow a reporter who is purchased as a toy for a rich spoiled brat.