What is a shaping dish?

I believe you are referring to a chafing dish. This item is used in the kitchen prior to or serving a portion of a meal. It is a pan, bowl or other dish meant to keep the food warm. You will often encounter these dishes at a meal served buffet style. They do not shape food, those are molds.