What is black sauce?

Hoisin or black sauce is a thick, fragrant sauce commonly used in Cantonese cuisine as a glaze for meat, an addition to stir fry, or as dipping sauce. It is darkly-colored in appearance and sweet and salty in taste. It usually includes soybeans, fennel, red chili peppers, and garlic.