What kind of seeds do birds eat?

Black sunflower seeds are highly recommended for use in bird feeders because they attract a wide variety of birds, have a high ratio of seed material to shell, and are high in fat content. Other common bird seeds include Niger, or thistle seed, a favorite of goldfinches,redpolls.