When did eminem start rapping?

1988

---

Being a rap fan for most of his life, Marshall began rapping at the early age of 4. ... At the age of 14, he began to get very serious about his rapping but it wasn't until he was 17 that he actually made a name for himself, becoming M&M, which he would later respell as "Eminem".