What's the average speed of a commercial flight?

Commercial jet aircraft cruise at about 400 – 500 knots (460 – 575 mph or 740 – 930 kph). Speeds depend on the type of commercial plane or jet as well as weather conditions, altitude, how many passengers and cargo load, and air traffic congestion.