What is op ed stand for?

An op-ed, short for "opposite the editorial page", is a written prose piece typically published by a newspaper or magazine which expresses the opinion of an author usually not affiliated with the publication's editorial board.

---

An Op Ed, short for "opposite the editorial page" is a published piece by a media source which expresses the opinion of an author typically not affiliated with the publication's editorial board.