How did they make ice cream?

they used a hand crank churn. They'd put heavy cream and milk and sugar and flavoring inside the barrel of the churn, then line the outside of the churn with ice and rock salt (the salt makes it colder, don't put it in the cream) then turn the handle on the churn until ice cream forms inside.