What's the compromise of eighteen twenty?

The Missouri Compromise is the title generally attached to the legislation passed by the 16th United States Congress on May 9, 1820. It admitted Maine as a free state along with Missouri as a slave state, thus maintaining the balance of power between North and South in the United States Senate.