Why can't dogs have milk?

Some dogs have no problems digesting milk and dairy products. Yet others experience acute intestinal distress, like gas, diarrhea or vomiting, whenever they consume these kinds of foods. It all comes down to how your dog handles a specific nutrient found in milk, known as lactose.