What year did lake erie catch on fire?

1969. Cleveland was a manufacturing hub & the Cuyahoga River, which empties into Lake Erie, had long been a dumping place 4 sewage & industrial waste. On June 22, 1969, a spark flared from the train tracks down 2 the river below, igniting industrial debris floating on the surface of the water.