What is this song the joker and the queen about?

In this song, Ed Sheeran sings about a relationship that bloomed against all odds. He compares it to the classic tales of the court jester falling in love with the princess. The singer had nothing to hide from her – he admits that he had nothing to offer her. But she still accepted him for who he is

---

The song or duet is sung by Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeeran. The meaning of song is about a relationship that doesn't need or require outrageous gifts such as diamond rings or other extravagant gifts. A true and dedicated loving relationship does not and will not ever require said trinkets.