What was the dred scott versus sanford case?

In Dred Scott v Sandford, the U.S. Supreme Court held that people of African descent, enslaved or free, were not citizens, & therefore the rights and privileges that the Constitution confers upon citizens did not apply to them. The Court also ruled that Congress didn't have the power to ban slavery.