What happens to mosquitoes in the winter?

Mosquitoes hibernate. They are cold-blooded and at temperatures less than 50 degrees Farenheit, they shut down for the winter. Adult females of some species find holes where they wait for warmer weather, while others lay their eggs in freezing water and die.