How do you dispose of fire extinguishers?

There are 3 steps. First release any pressure in the canister by shooting a small amount into open air. Second, let the canister sit a few days, making sure the pressure has been released. And, third, once there is no longer any pressure, dispose in a trash bag in your regular garbage.