Does hugging dogs give them stress?

Hugging a dog unfamiliar to you may cause the dog stress. It's important to remember that dogs, unlike humans, have a hard time understanding a hug. The best way to give a dog affection is to gently stroke the dog under the chin or on the back. Let an unfamiliar dog come to you and stay calm.